Skip to content

Reported end date passed· Disaster Risk· WASH

Earthquake

On 25th April 2015 a devastating earthquake measuring 7.8 on the Richter scale occurred in Nepal, 48 miles from the capital of Kathmandu following which there were at least 30 aftershocks. Thousands were injured and thousands died. JOA granted Oxfam £30,000 for the provision of emergency food, access to clean safe water and hygiene kits, Save the Children £30,000 for the provision of shelter support, rope and essential household items, British Red Cross £30,000 for thousands of tarpaulins, oral rehydration salts, soap, water purification tablets and first aid. JOA also gave £50,000 to the Bailiff’s Disaster Appeal matching public fundraising in Jersey for the provision of a longer term sustainable project.

Source-reported status: completed. Timeline labels use reported dates and do not verify current activity.

Save
Not reported budget·Not reported disbursed·openmindedly reporting organization·Kathmandu, Bagmati location·Jan 1, 2015 → Dec 31, 2015 timeline

Reported by openmindedly

Overview

About this project

On 25th April 2015 a devastating earthquake measuring 7.8 on the Richter scale occurred in Nepal, 48 miles from the capital of Kathmandu following which there were at least 30 aftershocks. Thousands were injured and thousands died. JOA granted Oxfam £30,000 for the provision of emergency food, access to clean safe water and hygiene kits, Save the Children £30,000 for the provision of shelter support, rope and essential household items, British Red Cross £30,000 for thousands of tarpaulins, oral rehydration salts, soap, water purification tablets and first aid. JOA also gave £50,000 to the Bailiff’s Disaster Appeal matching public fundraising in Jersey for the provision of a longer term sustainable project.

Field coverage

75% complete

1 source feed · 3 evidence versions

Completeness measures the presence of project fields. It is not a verification score. Multiple evidence versions can come from the same feed, and feeds can reproduce the same publisher's data.

Not reported by the available sources: budget, disbursement, partner organizations. This is intentionally shown as unavailable rather than estimated.

Report an update or correction

Provenance

Original project evidence

1 distinct source feed across 3 recorded evidence versions. These are not independent confirmations. Links below show the latest available version for each source page, up to 50 pages.

  • iati ↗

    https://d-portal.org/ctrack.html?aid=IM-CR-024714B-JE15-015

    Retrieved May 26, 2026 · Last checked May 26, 2026

  • iati ↗

    https://d-portal.org/ctrack.html?aid=IM-CR-024714B-JE15-010

    Retrieved May 26, 2026 · Last checked May 26, 2026

  • iati ↗

    https://d-portal.org/ctrack.html?aid=IM-CR-024714B-JE11-157

    Retrieved May 26, 2026 · Last checked May 26, 2026

Alignment

SDG focus

No SDGs tagged.