Skip to content

Reported end date passed· WASH

Upper Trishuli-1 hydroelectric project

Oxfam together with Community Self Reliance Centre (CSRC), and with research by Dr. Navin Rai, examined the International Finance Corporation’s (IFC) and FMO’s (Dutch Development Bank) implementation of its Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) commitment at the Upper Trishuli-1 hydroelectric project at Rasuwa Nepal. IFC is the lead arranger of the debt package for the UT-1 hydroelectric project involving eight other lenders among them the Dutch Development Bank, FMO. The financing is provided to the privately-owned Nepal Water and Energy Development Company (NWEDC) that is majority owned by the Korean Southeast Power Corporation. The research assessed and compared the extent to which the NWEDC’s interpretation of FPIC aligns with best practice andthe Oxfam definition of FPIC,and whether NWEDC behavior and process aligns with FPIC requirements as defined in IFC’s performance standards 7 on indigenous peoples. IFC’s performance standards 7 on indigenous peoples will be the primary standard againstwhich FPIC implementation will be evaluated, since FMO has adopted IFC’s performance standards. This research provided communities with the opportunity to express their views on how agreement-making with communities has taken place, how consent has beenreached, and how FPIC has been implemented. Documenting and sharing lessons learned with stakeholders nationally and globally is key in improving the situation for the affected communities of the Trishuli dam, as well as FPIC practices in Nepal, and around the world. This report follows and builds on research, carried out by LAHURNIP in 2017, in Rasuwa District. This research highlighted key concerns from communities related to inadequate consultation and engagement in decision making. In 2018 in a three-month period, an FPIC process took place, even though we can challenge the fact that the Free and Prior components were already violated, as land was acquired already back in 2011 and 2012.

Source-reported status: active. Timeline labels use reported dates and do not verify current activity.

Save
Not reported budget·USD 92K disbursed·Oxfam Novib reporting organization·Rasuwa, Bagmati location·Feb 1, 2023 → Mar 31, 2023 timeline

Reported by Oxfam Novib

Overview

About this project

Oxfam together with Community Self Reliance Centre (CSRC), and with research by Dr. Navin Rai, examined the International Finance Corporation’s (IFC) and FMO’s (Dutch Development Bank) implementation of its Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) commitment at the Upper Trishuli-1 hydroelectric project at Rasuwa Nepal. IFC is the lead arranger of the debt package for the UT-1 hydroelectric project involving eight other lenders among them the Dutch Development Bank, FMO. The financing is provided to the privately-owned Nepal Water and Energy Development Company (NWEDC) that is majority owned by the Korean Southeast Power Corporation. The research assessed and compared the extent to which the NWEDC’s interpretation of FPIC aligns with best practice andthe Oxfam definition of FPIC,and whether NWEDC behavior and process aligns with FPIC requirements as defined in IFC’s performance standards 7 on indigenous peoples. IFC’s performance standards 7 on indigenous peoples will be the primary standard againstwhich FPIC implementation will be evaluated, since FMO has adopted IFC’s performance standards. This research provided communities with the opportunity to express their views on how agreement-making with communities has taken place, how consent has beenreached, and how FPIC has been implemented. Documenting and sharing lessons learned with stakeholders nationally and globally is key in improving the situation for the affected communities of the Trishuli dam, as well as FPIC practices in Nepal, and around the world. This report follows and builds on research, carried out by LAHURNIP in 2017, in Rasuwa District. This research highlighted key concerns from communities related to inadequate consultation and engagement in decision making. In 2018 in a three-month period, an FPIC process took place, even though we can challenge the fact that the Free and Prior components were already violated, as land was acquired already back in 2011 and 2012.

Field coverage

85% complete

1 source feed · 1 evidence version

Completeness measures the presence of project fields. It is not a verification score. Multiple evidence versions can come from the same feed, and feeds can reproduce the same publisher's data.

Not reported by the available sources: budget. This is intentionally shown as unavailable rather than estimated.

Report an update or correction

Provenance

Original project evidence

1 distinct source feed across 1 recorded evidence version. These are not independent confirmations. Links below show the latest available version for each source page, up to 50 pages.

  • iati ↗

    https://d-portal.org/ctrack.html?aid=NL-KVK-27108436-A-06598-05%3ANP

    Retrieved Nov 3, 2026 · Last checked Nov 3, 2026

Alignment

SDG focus

No SDGs tagged.